The Church of St. Francis de Sales
During the Great Depression, Sanctum Harbor experienced an influx of Irish Catholic parishioners emigrating from Boston in order to escape the gang violence prevalent at the time. Although Sanctum Harbor was founded largely by pagans, and therefore held no religious affiliations, a proposal for a Catholic church was soon brought up by the new residents.
Although initially met with some resistance from the more traditional members of the Town Council, it was decided in 1931 that the old hospital would be repurposed in the spirit of religious tolerance. In 1932, the Church of St. Frances de Sales opened its doors, and still stands to this day at the busy intersection of Hawthorne Street and Keats Crossing. Mass is held daily and the Sisters of Charity welcome donations of non-perishable foot items and clothing.
The Emerson Lighthouse
Located on a small stretch of land jutting out from the southern bend of the harbor, the Emerson Lighthouse serves as a herald to ships braving the night and fog to return home. Before its construction in 1723, the sea stacks in the harbor were known to wreck ships with devastating consequences. The largest of them was dubbed "Widow's Rock," as it had contributed to the wreckage of eleven separate vessels.
Named after famous author who penned Farenheit 451, Sanctum Harbor's Bradbury Park has long served as the heart of the Historical District. Situated between the courthouse and sheriff's department just west of the wharf, it provides both solitude and entertainment for visitors. It is also the venue of the various festivities that occur in Sanctum Harbor throughout the year, and boasts a nature trail that is particularly beautiful during the changing of the leaves.
The Sanctum Harbor Courthouse
Established in 1769, the old Sanctum Harbor courthouse overlooks both Bradbury Park as well as the harbor itself. Tours regarding the courthouse's history, including its participation in the abolitionist movement, are conducted daily.